

International Continuing Education Program on HTA & Decision Science (HTADS)

Faculty

Prof. Uwe Siebert, MD, MPH, MSc, ScD

Prof. Uwe Siebert, MD, MPH, MSc, ScD, Professor of Public Health, is the Chair of the Department of Public Health and Health Technology Assessment (HTA) at UMIT - University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology in Austria and the Director of the Division for Public Health Decision Modeling, HTA, and Health Economics in the ONCOTYROL - Center for Personalized Cancer Medicine in Austria. He is also Adjunct Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health and Director of the Cardiovascular Research Program at the Institute for Technology Assessment, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School.

His research interests include applying evidence-based quantitative methods from public health, epidemiology, outcomes research, economic evaluation, decision science, personalized medicine and translational research in the framework of health technology assessments (HTA) as well as in the clinical context of routine health care. He teaches courses in decision analysis, HTA, and advanced epidemiologic methods at several universities and for industry in Europe and the US.

Prof. Siebert was a Member of the International Expert Committee Advising IQWiG on the Methods for Economic Evaluations and he has served as a member of SMDM's and ISPOR's Directors Boards. He is Vice-President-Elect of the Society of Medical Decision Making (SMDM), a member of the Oncology Advisory Council of the Austrian Ministry of Health, a member of the Austrian Cochrane Collaboration Branch, Co-Chair of the ISPOR-SMDM Modeling Task Force, and Co-Chair of the SMDM Methodology Section. He has worked with several HTA and Government Agencies (e.g., DAHTA@DIMDI/Germany, IQWiG/Germany, NICE/UK, ANVISA/Brazil, CADTH/Canada, LBI-HTA/Austria, GOEG/Austria) and advises institutions regarding the conduction of HTA. He has authored more than 250 publications and is a member of the Editorial Board of multiple scientific journals.